Uncanny Brotherhood of Evil Mutants? (or “Marvel Takes My Money”)

A few days ago, Marvel released another NOW! teaser with the word “UNCANNY” and the creative team of Brian Michael Bendis and Chris Bachalo. It was pretty obvious to all involved that this would be the next volume of Uncanny X-Men. I had kind of hoped that Marvel would let the Uncanny X-Men name rest a bit with the book having already been cancelled and relaunched last year, as well as the launch of All New X-Men in its place. By my count there are already 10 X-Men books in the new Marvel landscape (not counting Wolverine’s solo book and Uncanny Avengers), so the I think it would be best to leave Uncanny alone until they decide to resurrect Professor X five years from now. However, Bendis gets what Bendis wants, and what he want is two bimonthly $3.99 X-Men books. That’s right folks, for only $16 a month (plus tax) you can read the weekly adventures of everyone’s favorite muties by BMB. Now, I’m only being a little bitter as I HATE Marvel’s pricing/shipping policies with books like this. As interested as I am in All New X-Men, I refuse to buy it for this reason. However, I’m a huge fan of Bachalo’s X-Men work, so I was at least a little interested in seeing what this new volume of Uncanny will be about.

Well, now I know. Take my money Marvel, you insufferable #%@#^@#.

Today, in a post on Bachalo’s blog titled “Uncanny,” we get the first glimpse of the new Uncanny X-Men. And guess what, it’s the new Brotherhood of Evil Mutants led by none other than golden boy Scott Summers.

Now I might be  jumping the gun a bit, but based on the turn Cyclops’ character has taken post AvX and the inclusion of Magneto and Emma Frost on the team, this is pretty much the only conclusion I can come to. And I love it. I’m firmly in the “Cyclops was right” camp of AvX, so I can wait for him to carry on his agenda and lead the new mutant population to greatness. This is the perfect evolution of the post-Schism status quo and it should be a great companion to Wolverine & the X-Men. I just hope Bachalo can stay on as the regular artist and that Bendis wont mess it up.

Final thoughts? Cyclops and Magneto’s new suits are fantastic. Oh, and I predict Toad and Husk will defect from the Jean Grey School over to Cyclops’ team. On a day in which DC does something incredibly stupid, Marvel does something brilliant.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

