New 52 Power Rankings: June 2012

So I got SUPER behind on my comic reading last month. A bit of a mix up with the mail and a belated honeymoon trip will do that. However, I’m back with the ranking of my 10 favorite New 52 books for the month of June.

Top 10 Books

Ranking

Title

Last Month

Total Months in Top 10

1

Green Lantern

5

10

2

Swamp Thing

6

9

3

Batman

N/A

8

4

I, Vampire

N/A

8

5

Justice League

7

9

6

Dial H

8

2

7

Animal Man

3

9

8

Justice League Dark

9

2

9

Aquaman

N/A

6

10

Earth 2

4

2

It’svery hard to believe that we’re 10 issues into most of these series already. Everything is building to the 12th issues, which will mark the end of the first year of the New 52. It seems like the 12th issue will act as a sort of season finale for most of these books, with storylines wrapping up to huge consequences. This is especially the case with Green Lantern, Swamp Thing, Animal Man, and Justice League as these books are all building to major stories like Rise of the Third Army, Rotworld, and Trinity War. Say what you want about the problems with the New 52, but this is a really exciting time to be reading comics.

I’m not going to go into an in-depth discussion of the individual books this month, as I don’t really feel like there’s much new to say. The highlights of this month were definitely the top 3 books. Green Lantern #10 marked the end of the Indigo Tribe arc and featured the return of a MAJOR GL villain that’s been off the table for a while. Let’s just say I haven’t been this excited about GL since the build up to Blackest Night…wink wink. Swamp Thing featured art by Francesco Francavilla, one of my all time favorite artists, so that was a real treat. Batman #10 revealed the big bad of the Court of Owls arc, and what a reveal it was. The new issue of Justice League wasn’t much to speak of overall, but the Shazam back up feature made the issue one of my favorites of the month with the return of Black Adam. Under the pen of Geoff Johns, Black Adam became one of my favorite characters in the DCU, so I’m really excited to see what he has in store. Nothing against the Justice League book, I’m really enjoying it, but I really wish Shazam could be its own feature as I enjoy those 8 pages even more than the main story.

That’s my take on DC in June, see you next time!

Leave a Reply

