What I’m Buying (You Should Too)-11/02/2011

20111102-003944.jpg

Action Comics #3-Grant Morrison is doing some great things with Superman in this book. Last issue we him escape from the clutches of Lex Luthor and we saw the first hints of the story’s Big Bad. In this issue, Morrison is shedding some light on DCnU version of Krypton. Expect minor to heavy changes to the story of the last days of Krypton, illustrated by the incredible Gene Ha.

20111102-004032.jpg

Animal Man #3-While last issue was a bit slower than the first issue I’m still in love with this series and can’t wait to find out what’s coming next. The cover seems to hint at some possible new powers for Animal Man. The possibilities are endless and writer Jeff Lemire will have me front and center as Buddy and Maxine explore the Red.

20111102-004143.jpg

O.M.A.C #3-This off beat underdog of a book is quickly becoming one of my favorite of the new 52 books. While it’s not breaking any ground for complex story telling, it is a really fun comic. Keith Giffen has become my go to writer for funny, action packed series, like his late great run on Doom Patrol. Plus, issue #2’s last page reveal of a certain high-ranking Checkmate official, who has ties to Brother Eye, has me super excited for what’s to come. Plus, how can I ignore something that has Jack Kirby written all over it?

20111102-004151.jpg

Swamp Thing #3-Last month’s issue of Swamp Thing hit me like a ton of bricks. Everything that didn’t click in the first issue was corrected in the second, with heavy revelations in the Swamp Thing mythos and unbelievable art by Yanick Paquette. Scott Snyder has said on Twitter that this issue is going to be the best one yet, so I’m holding him to it.

20111102-004157.jpg

Uncanny X-Men #1-Last week I took my first step into Marvel comics with Wolverine and the X-Men. This week I’m following it up with the first issue of the relaunched Uncanny X-Men. I loved the new status quo for Wolverine and his team of mutants and how can’t wait to see how Cyclops’ side is doing. I hope that these two books can give me an interesting overview of the X-Men universe, and I’m really excited to see which side I end up liking best. Look for my impressions of this book in Crossing the Aisle-Part 2.

Leave a Reply

