DCnU Week 4

Here we are, in the last week of the first month of the new 52. There are 13 more #1 issues to be reviewed, and here are the ones I’m looking forward to the most. This time I’ll be including links to previews of the issues.

Aquaman #1-This is Geoff Johns and Ivan Reis, the creative team behind some of the behind Blackest Night, Brightest Day, and a great deal of John’s Green Lantern Run, doing what they do best; taking a character who has been out of the limelight for a while and making him/her awesome. Aquaman has always been kind of a joke in public consciousness, but Johns is here to turn him into a DC A-lister. There’s no reason not to be excited for this book. Here’s a great interview with Johns about his plans for the book.

The Flash #1-Coming right out of the epic summer event Flashpoint, the catalyst for the new 52 relaunch, Barry Allen is a pretty big deal in the DCU. I’m definitely interested in seeing what ramifications that story will have on the Flash due to his intimate involvement. Some have expressed concern over Francis Manapul taking over writing duties in addition to art, but I’m willing to give him a shot. I can guarantee that this will be one of the best looking books of the DCnU, likely second only to Batwoman.

Green Lantern: New Guardians #1-The final GL book of the relaunch is a team book starring Kyle Rayner, the youngest earth GL, and representatives from the various lantern Corps. Of all the GL books, I feel this one has the coolest premise. I love the different lantern corps, and Kyle is a great character that has kind of been overshadowed in recent years by Hal. Nevertheless, I consider Tony Bedard to be the most inconsistent of the GL writers. I wasn’t a big fan of his GLC run, or his War of the Green Lanterns Aftermath mini. As it stands I’m a bit of completist when it comes to GL books, so I’ll likely get this one no matter what. I just hope I don’t regret it.

Justice League Dark #1-While I do think the title for this book is a little silly, the concept couldn’t be more solid. A team book of DC’s greatest occult and supernatural characters? A writer who has been attached to many of the characters in the past and is well known for his work under DC’s Vertigo imprint. The Dark family of DC titles have been some of the best of the new 52, and hopefully this one will be another check in the win column.

Teen Titans #1-If you had told me three months ago that I would be excited about this Teen Titans book I wouldn’t have believed it. Everything about it turned me off initially. I had never heard of Scott Lobdell, Brett Booth is hardly my favorite artist, and what’s up with the team’s costumes? It’s all red and neutral colors. Yet here I am, after having read Lobdell’s first issue of Superboy, really interested in what this book has to offer. Lobdell has said that Superboy and Teen Titans are essentially one bimonthly book, so I’ll at least give this issue a shot. Here’s hoping it’s more like Superboy and less like Lobdell’s other book.

Leave a Reply

