DCnU Week 2

We’re on the eve of the second full week of the New 52, here are the books I’m most excited about.

20110914-023246.jpg
Green Lantern #1–Geoff John’s run on Green Lantern is the book that made me fall in love with monthly comics. This is picking up directly where the last volume left off, so there’s no way I’ll miss this.

20110914-023134.jpg
Red Lanterns #1–I don’t really know what to think about this book. On one hand I’m not sure a monthly book about the Red Lanterns can last very long, but on the other I’m a fan of all things Green Lantern so I’m more than wiling to give this a shot. The creative team of Peter Milligan and Ed Benes has me really excited too.

20110914-023347.jpg
Batman and Robin #1–I’ve followed Peter Tomasi and Patrick Gleason since their amazing run on Green Lantern Corps. Also, Damian Wayne became one of my favorite characters thanks to Grant Morrison. I’m excited to see his interactions with his father, Bruce Wayne, something we haven’t really seen much of before.

20110914-023439.jpg
Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E. #1–Again, my appreciation for this character stems from Morrison’s work on the character. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Lemire’s Frankenstein Flashpoint tie-in, but I hope that was just due to the constraints of being an event tie-in. Here’s hoping that Lemire hits it out of the park for the second week in a row.

20110914-023536.jpg
Demon Knights #1-Paul Cornell really let me down with Stormwatch last week. That said, I’ve heard him describe this book as very Game of Thrones-like. That, along with interesting characters like Etrigan and Shining Knight, has me cautiously optimistic.

Leave a Reply

