Reviewing the Rest-09/07/11

In this segment I’ll be reviewing books that don’t quite warrant a dedicated full review, either due to lack of quality or my own lack of interest.

Static Shock #1 by John Rozum and Scott McDaniel

Static Shock is a character from Milestone comics, a DC comic imprint created by the late Dwayne McDuffie and a number of other writers and artists in the early 90s. Static went on to gain popularity through an animated series. This series, written by Milestone alum John Rozum, is actually really fun. The character is smart and snarky in a Spider-Man kind of way, and he has really cool powers. I probably wont be following this series, but I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Spider-Man or other teenage heroes.

Rating: 8/10

Green Arrow #1 by J.T. Krul, Dan Jurgens, and George Perez

J.T. Krul has been writing Green Arrow for close to two years now, and his run has been kind of tepidly received by critics. A lot of this had to do with lingering plot threads from James Robinson’s much derided Cry for Justice mini-series, which saw Green Arrow’s life fall to pieces. Now that Krul has been handed a clean slate he can tell some really good Green Arrow stories. Nevertheless, I won’t be following this one. The plot was alright, but far from groundbreaking. I enjoy the classic quality of Jurgen’s and Perez’s art, but I don’t think it’s a fit for this book.

Rating: 7.4/10

Hawk and Dove #1 by Sterling Gates and Rob Liefeld

Oh Rob Liefeld, what are you doing here. The man known for defining an era of comic embodied by bulging muscles, disproportionate anatomy, and way too many teeth returns to DC to pencil a one of the books that got his career started. The results are pretty much what you would expect. More style than substance (not that it’s a style I’m fond of), and some pretty lousy dialogue. I am glad they’re carrying over some plot points from Brightest Day, like Dove and Deadman’s relationship. At the same time, I get the impression that Hawk has never been dead, which makes me wonder if the events of Brightest Day are still 100% intact. I would only recommend this book for hardcore Hawk and Dove fans

Rating: 6/10

Batwing #1 by Judd Winick and Ben Oliver

Sigh, what do I say about this book? It’s bland. The art is bland, the writing is bland. I appreciate the focus on a non-american hero, but if I was going to ask for a book about an African based hero/team I would have picked James Robinson’s proposed Justice League of Africa. Also, I don’t usually mind gratuitous violence, but this was a bit much. In a sea of batbooks, this one is definitely a pass for me.

Rating: 6/10

Men of War #1 by Ivan Brandon and Tom Derenick

This is a really cool idea, soldiers fighting battles in a world of super heroes.  I really commend DC’s effort to diversify the genres they’re publishing. This is definitely something the Call of Duty crowd can get behind. Unfortunately that’s not me. I’ll be passing on this one, but if you like war stories then definitely give this a shot.

Rating: 7.5/10

Justice League International #1 by Dan Jurgens and Aaron Lopresti


P
eople have been asking for a new JLI series for a long time. The original JLI by Keith Giffen, J.M. Dematteis, and Kevin Maguire is a fan favorite, presenting a different kind of Justice League than was previously seen and showing that comics could be really really funny. Last year we saw the team revived in the bi-weekly series Justice League: Generation Lost by Judd Winick and Keith Giffen. This series brought the band back together, with the humor of the original along with some real depth. I’m sad to say that this new series pretty much abandons everything that happened in that series. Not only that, but there are major changes to continuity, like the exclusion of Max Lord from the team’s formation. I’ve mentioned in other reviews how it’s unclear how much of past stories have actually happened, and this book has me the most perplexed. I’m interested to see where this book goes, but over this issue wasn’t for me. The story was a typical team formation book. The art from Aaron Lopresti is pretty good, and I really like the characters on the team. We’ll see about this one.

Rating: 7.3

Come back next week when I review the next 13 books in the new 52!

Leave a Reply

